FFWD: Orange Almond Tart

Orange Almond Tart

from around my french table by Dorie Greenspan

The picture for this recipe is what got me.  Who doesn’t love a beautifully composed tart with swirls of fruit and a golden buttery crust? Unfortunately, my almond cream swallowed up my oranges, so you’re getting a somewhat abbreviated view:

I thought it would be pretty to use blood oranges as well, and I’m really glad I did.  I love the way the colors pop against the pale almond cream… next time I’m definitely going to space the oranges better and aim for bigger supremes.  I used almond meal from Trader Joe’s instead of the requisite almond flour, so my cream is a bit rustic looking.

Overall, this recipe wasn’t too difficult, just time consuming.  It was much easier to pull together with the crust already baked, and making the orange supremes didn’t take long at all.  Do not skip the drying step!

To see how other tarts turned out, visit http://www.frenchfridayswithdorie.com/

~ by slongcoat on February 10, 2011.

12 Responses to “FFWD: Orange Almond Tart”

  1. I love the blood oranges! I definitely agree that it was time consuming, but I think it was worth it.

  2. I love your use of blood oranges. They were such a favorite of mine growing up in Italy that I’m thrilled to see them becoming more readily available in the U.S. And, I agree – nothing was difficult, it just took time.

    Very pretty!

  3. Thanks for the nice welcome! Your tart looks beautiful! What a great idea to use blood oranges. Love it!

  4. I agree with the other comments – great idea to use blood oranges, they look stunning =)

  5. The contrast of red and orange is so pretty!

  6. I was disappointed in my disappearing fruit too. Your oranges are beautiful, though.

  7. Love the variation of using the blood oranges. It added a beautiful touch – and I didn’t see any wonkiness anywhere!

  8. I don’t think your tart looks wacky at all. My almond cream puffed up quite a bit, but I loved the look of it. I agree – the pop of the blood red oranges is so pretty.

  9. Yours is SO pretty. I had not considered the blood oranges at all and they are genius. love how you combined them with the navels- it is truly a beautiful tart. This one is a keeper in our house and I look forward to trying your rendition !

  10. I love the blood oranges! Looks beautiful, even if your oranges did get a little “swallowed up” by the cream. And yep, I loved the rustic-ness of the TJ’s Almond Meal too! :)

  11. I don’t think your tart looks wacky. It is lovely and with the blood oranges it is very colorful…and I like the rustic look, I also used the almond meal rather than flour…tastes great, looks nice, and overall worked out well. I found that by glazing the top of my tart with some jelly that I microwaved until melted really brought out the oranges, color, etc. and took away some of the “rustic” appearance. Don’t be too hard on yourself, your tart looks great!

  12. The blood oranges really change a beautiful tart into a stunning one…great idea!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

